10 August – Setback?

I just received a reply to yesterday’s mail saying that on consideration I may not be eligible after all.

I suffered from CIN1 a few years ago (before my first pregnancy!) and the cells had to be surgically removed. I have been all clear ever since and have had loads of check-ups so I really hope this isn’t a stumbling block. She’s going to chat with the doctors this week and let me know.

Argh! I can’t believe how disappointed I am, I feel a bit as though I’ve been punched in the stomach. I fully understand her concern and the need to check it out thoroughly, but I would be devastated if that issue stopped me from helping someone else out now. I’ve carried two incredibly health and easy pregnancies to term since then, surely that should overrule what came before?

Feeling very frustrated right now and hoping that this isn’t already the end of my journey…
Will update as soon as I hear more!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “10 August – Setback?”

  1. Monica Says:

    What’s that CIN thing?

  2. eggorchicken Says:

    Hi Monica 🙂
    CIN (I have no idea what it stands for!) is a form of precancerous cells on your cervix. At a routine pap my GP picked up that I had some funny looking cells (irregularly shaped I believe), once these were sent off it was confirmed I had CIN1. I was referred to a gynae and got an appointment 3 weeks later, by this stage it had progressed a little but not too much. I believe CIN1 is the very early stage (pre-pre-pre cancerous cells, lol), then CIN2 is more advanced, then CIN3 and then cancerous cells follow on from that.

    I underwent an in hospital procedure for the CIN1 and had everything removed, done and dusted. Apparently it is relatively common and no big deal – the important thing is to catch it in the early stages!!!

    HTh 🙂

Leave a Reply

