28 September – The verdict is IN!

He said YES, he said, YES! Holy crap HE SAID YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And in case you’ve only just started reading my blog – I asked my dear husband to think over the possibility of me becoming a surrogate mother and he has *finally* answered. And yup, I have to say it again…just for the thrill of it – HE SAID YEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!

I’m so, so, so excited. I know it’s just one more hurdle (and there are a whole lot more to come!) but it is certainly a significant step forward!

*I have ‘passed’ the initial screening/application
*I have wrapped my own head around the enormity of what i’m about to undertake
*I have my dh’s full support

Now I need to fill in the full application, go for a medical screening, go for a psychological screening, meet IP’s (intended parents). Once I’ve found a couple that I want to work with (and that wants to work with me!) we need to go through all the legalities, make a million and one choices…and never mind all the injections, scans (dildo-cams, ARGH!) etc. Yup, it’s a loong road ahead but what an exciting one. I honestly cannot WAIT to get on it.

I just hope I manage to pass all the other screening tests. My dh reckons I should try to get a ‘surrogate’ to stand in for me at the psychological screening. Grrr…;)

I’m literally bouncing here, I am sooooooooooooooooooo excited!!!!!!!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “28 September – The verdict is IN!”

  1. keystoclaritycoach Says:

    whooohooo!!! Congratulations! That is a major hurdle. Having your dh support is such a big one! He is obviously a wonderful man to see how much you/both will be doing for a desperate couple! Big acknowledgement to him from Coach Louise! And you, you amaze me with your courage! Keep us posted- I am looking forward to supporting you on this journey!

    warm fuzzies,
    Coach Louise
    http://www.lifebalanceinfertilitycoach.wordpress.com

  2. Monica Says:

    Yay – congrats! I love getting what I want, don’t you you?!

  3. Shell Says:

    Great News!! Congratulations.. Now the “fun” really begins!

  4. N Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS and the absolute BEST wishes for an amazing journey!!!!! I will be excited to follow along with you! I admire your strong enthusiasm for doing something that can be so time and “labor” intensive (hahaha – pun intended). You will literally change lives for people.

  5. Intending To Be Parents Says:

    I will be following along!! 🙂

  6. Mike Buonaiuto Says:

    hello – this is such a lovely post – i have just finished producing a short documentary on surrogacy here in the uk – it covers the changes in laws which are occuring – and the problems some people can face when going through the process to overcome infertility – it can be found on my blog – http://www.mikeb.co.nr – and http://www.youtube.com/mikebuonaiuto – feel free to have a look – it would be great if you could get back to me with any comments and debate – thanks – mike

Leave a Reply

