29 September – Question for other Gestational Surrogates…

So the clinic that I would really like to go with has contacted me after filling in the application form and they seem happy with everything so far – of course it’ll take a while to get all the in depth checks done but on the surface everything looks good so far.

They’ve asked me if I would consider travelling to a particular clinic to have the procedure done (about a 2 hours flight from where I stay).  At first I was not entirely keen as I’ve never left my kids before and the thought stresses me out – but on reflection it is probably a good idea to get away.  After the transfer I could then also go straight back to the hotel and literally just stay on bedrest for at least a night to maximise the chances of the embies taking – does my logic make sense so far?

I have emailed her back with some of my questions but in the meantime – for those of you that travelled for the transfar, can you give me a rough idea of how often you had to go?  Did you initially just get sent instructions and meds and have all your initial consults in your hometown, and then only travel for the actual transfer?  Or did you have to travel often?  Also roughly how long were you away for?

If it entailed me going on one 3/4 day trip I honestly don’t think there’d be an issue, however if I was going often it would obviously be a lot harder to arrange everything!

If I’m prepared to travel then they are confident that they might be able to match me quite soon – exciting days!!!

Would love some comments, opinions or advice please 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “29 September – Question for other Gestational Surrogates…”

  1. keystoclaritycoach Says:

    Trust your intuition about what feels right for you. Talk to dh. Don’t rush in with the excitement to set yourself up for experiences that might not be right for you.

    lovingly,
    Coach Louise

    http://www.lifebalanceinfertilitycoach.wordpress.com

  2. Kymberli Says:

    Congrats on your husband agreeing to surrogacy! Two of the clinics that I worked with were 3-4 hours’ drive away. I went to those clinics for the initial consultation appointment and didn’t go back until the transfer. There was a local RE who did all of my monitoring (u/s & b/w) and sent the results to the main RE.

    If you’re going to have a fresh transfer, when you return to the main clinic for the transfer you should prepare to be away from home for about 4-7 days.

    Good luck!

  3. Bump Fairy Says:

    My clinic was a 3 hour flight from home, I was gone from Sunday to Tuesday. Any longer and I wouldn’t have been able to be away from my children, lol! It was one flight for transfer. Meds were shipped to me along with instructions, all ultrasounds and baselines were done at local facilities. Pretty easy! I did love the mini vacation and the 36 hours of rest after.. I’d never get that at home.

Leave a Reply

