8 October – The Phonecall update

Soooo…we did the Agency phonecall today and I think it went really well.  It was a great way to open up contact a little more, and to help us get a better sense of each other.  She had a few questions for me and also spent a lot of time explaining the processes to me.  She herself is a veteran of 17 IVF’s so she definitely knows what I am (will be) through from a medical point of view!  It was really a good phonecall.  I’m so happy to be with this agency 🙂  She was also very happy to answer all of my questions and to allay my fears and worries.

I couldn’t be more excited to get this off the ground now!!!

Next step is for Nurture (the agency) to do a background check on me and to arrange a psychological evaluation.  Assuming that those both go smoothly (lol, I’ll be pretty concerned if they don’t!) we’ll then start making travel plans to Cape Town or Johannesburg for me, for a night.  This will be quite a whirlwind trip where I will meet a social worker, lawyer, have a medical work-up and meet possible IP’s.  Exciting stuff!

Because each individual process takes time it’ll probably be 5/6 weeks before we get to that point though.

So next up for me is my gynae appointment next Friday.  Here’s hoping he has only good news for me and my uterus 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “8 October – The Phonecall update”

  1. andbabymakesfive Says:

    That’s wonderful! I’m glad the phone call went so well and will keep my fingers crossed for your exam!!

  2. N Says:

    sounds great! I hope it all rolls quickly for you!

    17 IVFs…that must be a record!!

  3. Shaz Says:

    Great to hear the ball is on the roll!!!

  4. Kymberli Says:

    I’m excited for you! I remember the thrill of officially taking those first steps forward on your surrogacy journey!

  5. Christy Treubig Says:

    Congrats! I am in the same boat here – first time surrogate for my friend, who happens to also be my office manager. we are “breaking records” in that my mock turned into the real thing. The egg donor has 16 folicles and our transfer date will be Oct 27, 28 or 29th 🙂 The shots aren’t bad..yet, it’s the IM ones I am worried about – those last for 14 weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

